Blog 08 – Week 11

This week we had a look at isolation levels and linq.

Isolation levels allows you to define how select statements work during the execution of a transaction and can be one of four types:
Read uncommitted
– allows for reading of data as it is currently in the database.
Read committed
– allows for reading of committed data in the database.
Repeatable read
– allows for reading of data in the database as it was when the transaction began.
– allows for reading of unlocked data in the database, waits if necessary data is locked.

Linq allows you to use to use a syntax similar to the SQL select statement in C# and is used in the following order:
from thing1 in thing2
select thing1